top of page
Search

Refrain, audacious tar, your suit from pressing!

Updated: May 10, 2019

We have a G&S indulgence today, a (nearly) full opera relax - and discuss - with the splendid HMAS Pinafore. The Australian Opera production of 2005 is our treat, starring David Hobson as the audacious tar, John Bolton-Wood as the water-avoiding ruler of the Queen's navee, Tiffany Speight as the daughter of the Captain who wasn't (Anthony Warlow) . What better context to discuss the role of patter in opera, as it reached its towering witty climax in Gilbert's libretto and Sullivan's music. And to reflect, in a timely manner, on political messages...

I grew so rich that I was sent

By a pocket borough into Parliament.

I always voted at my party’s call,

And I never thought of thinking for myself at all.

CHORUS. He never thought of thinking for himself at all.

SIR J. I thought so little, they rewarded me

By making me the Ruler of the Queen’s Navee!


If we don't get through the whole of this indulgence in our meeting, you can revisit it here

We sail the ocean blue...


27 views
bottom of page